Auto Tech Blog
Share this Page
AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Blog

Accident Advice

In the event of an accident, it is important to take the necessary steps to protect yourself and your interests.  Two recent developments need to be discussed so you can be an informed driver ready to handle an accident.

First, we've now heard of drivers using bogus insurance cards. So if you're involved in an auto accident:

Check for injuries, render first aid.
Call the police.
Exchange information.

Then use your cell phone or camera to record images of:

Damage to the other vehicle.
License plate of other vehicle.
Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) through windshield if possible.

Second, as a result of a recent court case in Illinois, law enforcement agencies in Wisconsin are no longer providing information to you on accident reports.  Filing a claim against another driver may be next to impossible if you cannot find out who they are. If you have an accident, gather as much information as you can at the scene.

Besides using your cell phone to record the other vehicle's damage and license plate, record the other drivers name, address, driver's license number, date of birth, extent of injuries and anything else of importance.

The days of obtaining this information from an accident report are over!  By taking these necessary steps, you can help to protect yourself should an accident occur.

Erickson Insurance Agency
www.myericksoninsurance.com
433 E LaSalle Ave
PO Box 155
Barron, WI 54812
Ph: 715-537-3393
Fx: 715-537-5073

 

Wisconsin State Law Changes

As a Wisconsin resident, you may have heard about the recent changes to automobile insurance laws in the state, but you might not have heard the details of these changes and how they might affect you.

Beginning on June 1, 2010, it will be mandatory to carry liability insurance on all vehicles in the State of Wisconsin. This new requirement will be enforced with up to a $10 fine for failing to carry a copy of your insurance information in your vehicle and up to a $500 fine for failing to obtain liability insurance.

Along with mandatory liability insurance, the following minimum limits for insurance are now required on all policies:

Bodily Injury Liability - $50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident
Property Damage Liability - $15,000 per accident
Uninsured Motorists - $100,000 per person/$300,000 per accident
Underinsured Motorists - $100,000 per person/$300,000 per accident
Medical Payments - $10,000 per accident

If you have any questions about the Wisconsin State law changes, your current coverage or need a copy of your proof of insurance, you should contact your insurance agent.

Please note the above limits listed are minimum limits required by Wisconsin State law and may not be adequate coverage for all situations or circumstances.

Erickson Insurance Agency
www.myericksoninsurance.com
433 E LaSalle Ave
PO Box 155
Barron, WI 54812
Ph: 715-537-3393
Fx: 715-537-5073